Whisperer…

I was in class five….an ordinary student…”average” what people say…but to my greatest surprise…it was me!…who had achieved the highest marks in the Geography exam…..and to her greatest dismay I beat the “first girl” of our class….the friends….even my parents were absolutely taken aback…..” Have you copied?” was the normal query.”No! Munna was there with me!” was my honest confession.This made them far more startled.”I don’t know….I felt her whispering in my ear…helping me to memorize…what I have read…..”.I replied,even though I knew that she had expired.Ten years have passed since then…..and with it the memories have gradually faded….and the incident appeared weird.

Being fastidious about human nature….I felt..I was quite troublesome and disturbing child.The society always tried to look down upon me…trying hard to point out my faults….which scalded my child heart….leaving me in a pensive mood…which was quite difficult for a “sentimental puppet” like me to come out from…and there comes my grandma….who often relieved me…by her radiating focus of goodwill…..soothing my feelings….she was my haven,whom my baby tongue lovingly called “Munna”.But…..she passed away…she left  all of us long time back….when I was too young,even to understand..what I was  going to loose.There is no one to fulfill her vacancy anymore….And….yet another irony…as, I was incapable to realize how much she  really matters to me then……her memories…..still make me cry.

You bring silent tears in my eyes….I miss you…..you loom large in my childhood memories even today.

~ by arpitachatterjee on January 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “Whisperer…”

  1. Even reading dis,i got nostalgic abt my grandma,she xpired 2yrs back..arpita..a great job..go ahead girl..u wil rock…

  2. IT’S A GOOD JOB.WELL DONE.NOTHING TO SAY

Leave a Reply

 
