Mixed emotions….the grey part!

Rouvanjit Rawla…the current pop ups in the media….a 13yrs kid of class VIII,La Martiniere student….who has committed suicide on account of being caned by his school teacher for truancy……….and then the story continues…………………However I am not here to say anything about the incident….but to me  it somewhat appeared like a magnified version of the same old story….which was so long swept under the carpet….I am still uncertain about whom to accuse…..but the incident was mournful.

I am an  ex-student of one of the renowned school of Kolkata…and in this stage of my  life…I can’t really relate my school days to be the golden one…..although I can’t deny but reveal my gratitude to my alma mater for whom I am what I am now….still it was not always as cheerful as it should have been…..The strict disciplines….angry rebukes……has taught us to be punctual,well behaved,decent human being….

But the other half of the story??It was equally bitter….and I felt like betrayed…humiliated………..the things turn polluted…the tendency of comparison……partiality….. excessive study pressure…all these lead to  inferiority complex and low self esteem….and it took me a long time to do away with this psychology of mine……however the Secondary examination was a life turner for me….and I came out with flying colors and I am grateful to my former teachers for this bright academic which followed….

I was admitted to another renowned institution for my +2..but this time I was put into a completely different environment….the atmosphere so very different from the previous one…so much encouraging…and beaming with happiness…..the system a bit loose but far more liberal..I felt that I am finally treated like a respected  individual..with love and care……I was astonished to discover that we never have had a parent teacher meeting where the teacher would carry out a one sided conversation whose main motive is to constantly accusing the student like a criminal in the witness box…..instead they  have gone for a student parent teacher counselling session where a thoughtful discussion was carried out to improve certain backlogs one have…..gradually my individuality starts growing…..I became far more confident…….and this is perhaps the reason you can find me in this webpage confidently typing my feelings….my emotions…..and  I am grateful to my alma mater for that………

Being molded in this mixed society…..I really don’t know which one is a correct way to built up a true, honest, decent, human being…….I am perplexed………..

~ by arpitachatterjee on October 10, 2010.

One Response to “Mixed emotions….the grey part!”

  1. obviusly d 2nd 1!
    dis is life! u get to do want u want but widin a limit!
    Im proud to be a hartleyian!
    coz we never faced such things!
    the teacher-student relationship was of different level!

Leave a Reply

 
